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Q: When will the Facility License Standards become effective? 
 
A: The Facility License Standards will become effective 30 days from the date of 

publication in the Federal Register – February 1, 2008.  The rules will, therefore, 
become effective on March 3, 2008. 

 
Q: When should I submit a facility license to NIGC? 
 
A: Notification of intent to issue a facility license on a new facility is required at 

least 120-days before the opening of a new gaming facility.   Facility licenses 
issued or reissued on existing facilities must be submitted to the NIGC within 30 
days after issuance or renewal.  

 
Q: How often must the Tribe renew its facility license? 
 
A: The Facility License Standards require that tribes reissue or renew their facility 

license at least once every three years.  This is intended to ensure that a current 
certification exists showing that tribes have identified and are enforcing their 
environment, public health and safety laws.  

 
Q: What lands information is required for a new gaming facility? 
 
A: The notice of intent to license a new facility must be submitted to the NIGC at 

least 120 days prior to opening the facility.  The notice must inform the NIGC of: 
1) the name and address of the property; 2) the legal description of the property; 
3) the BIA tract number if any; 4) if the land documentation is not maintained by 
the BIA, a copy of the deed or other trust document showing the status of the 
property; and documentation of the property’s ownership. 

 
 If the lands information provided is not sufficient for the NIGC to determine that 

the parcel qualifies as Indian lands for purposes of IGRA, the Chairman may 
request additional information. 
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Q: Why does the NIGC require the BIA tract number? 
 
A: This requirement was added to lessen the burden on tribes of providing lands 

documentation that is already maintained at the Bureau of Indian Affairs.  The 
BIA tract number will allow the NIGC to obtain information directly from the 
BIA instead of requiring the tribe to produce that land documentation. 

 
Q: Will the Facility License Standards be applied to Tribes who are already in 

the process of opening a new facility?  
 
A: Yes, the Facility License Standards will become effective on March 3, 2008.  If a 

tribe is already in the planning and construction phase of opening a new facility, 
and is unable to comply with the 120-day notice requirement contained in the 
regulations, the Tribe should notify the NIGC immediately, if it has not already 
done so.  The NIGC will then work with the Tribe to avoid any issues related to 
non-compliance with the regulation. 

 
Q: Where do I submit my facility license? 
 
A: Facility Licenses should be submitted to the Washington D.C. office at the 

following address: 
 
  National Indian Gaming Commission 

Attn:  Facility License 
1441 L Street, NW, Suite 9100 
Washington, D.C. 20005 

 
Electronic submissions may be made to: facility_license@nigc.gov.   If a Tribe 
chooses to submit their facility license electronically to this address, they will 
receive a confirmation that their submission was received at the NIGC address.  
The NIGC recommends that electronic files be in pdf format, if possible. 

 
Q: What if a Tribe is renewing a facility license in the short-term and will not be 

able to include all the information required under the Facility License 
Standards? 

 
A: In this situation, the NIGC recommends that tribes contact the NIGC’s EPHS 

program manager or the Office of General Counsel to work out an appropriate 
schedule for compliance with the regulation. 

 
Q: What information is required to show that a tribe has identified the laws 

applicable to its gaming facility?  Do tribes need to submit copies of the 
applicable laws? 

 
A: Tribes need to submit a list of the laws it has identified as applicable to its gaming 

operation.  Copies of those laws are not required to be submitted with the facility 
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license, but should be made available upon request.  The Chairman may also 
request additional environmental, public health or safety documentation as 
necessary to ensure that a facility is operating in a manner that protects patrons 
and employees.  

 
Q: What kind of submissions do you expect? 
  
A: Tribes often issue facility licenses in the form of a certificate.  Sample 

submissions for the EPHS and new facility notification portions of the regulation 
are available on the NIGC website at www.nigc.gov.  Please note that these 
sample submissions are only intended as guidance and that the NIGC is aware 
that each submission will vary depending on the laws, resolutions, codes, policies, 
standards or procedures applicable to each gaming facility. 

 
Q: What if in the course of licensing a facility, I learn that my tribe is not in 

complete compliance with all of its environmental, public health and safety 
laws? 

 
A: The NIGC allows for situations such as this by requiring that if a tribe cannot 

certify that it is in compliance with all of its environmental, public health and 
safety laws, the tribe will adopt and submit a written plan detailing specific 
actions the tribe will take to ensure compliance within a six-month period.  If the 
Tribe’s plan for compliance will exceed six months, the Chairman must concur 
with an extension of the time period.   

 
 It should be noted, however, that even if a plan for compliance has been 

submitted, the NIGC will take appropriate action if imminent jeopardy exists. 
 
Q: What information must be provided to the NIGC if a change of status occurs 

at a gaming facility (i.e., a facility closes or its license is terminated or not 
renewed)? 

 
A: A tribe should notify the NIGC within 30 days if a facility license is terminated or 

not renewed or if a facility closes or reopens. 
 
Q: What constitutes closure of a gaming facility sufficient to require notification 

to the NIGC? 
 
 When a Tribe ceases operations at a particular gaming facility, it shall notify the 

NIGC within 30 days of the closure of the facility.  Closure includes facilities that 
are permanently closed, and also those facilities that are closed on a seasonal basis 
(i.e., operate for a certain number of months but may be closed during the winter 
months), or when repair or construction activities require closure of a facility for a 
period of time in excess of 30 days.   
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Q: What information must be provided to the NIGC in the event of a closure or 
reopening? 

 
A: Within 30 days of any closure or reopening of a gaming facility, the Tribe should 

notify the NIGC in writing of: 1) the name of the gaming facility; 2) the address 
of the gaming facility; 3) the date of the closure or reopening; and 4) if non-
permanent closure, the anticipated date of reopening. 

 
 
Q: What actions may the NIGC take if a Tribe is found to be out of compliance 

with the Facility License Standards? 
 
A: The NIGC may issue a notice of violation if a gaming operation operates without 

a valid facility license.  If not corrected within a reasonable time, an order of 
temporary closure may be issued. 

 
 The NIGC recommends that tribes that have difficulty complying with the 

Facility License Standards communicate with their Regional Director, the Office 
of General Counsel or the EPHS Program Manager early in their licensing process 
to ensure that enforcement actions will not be necessary. 

 
Q:   How does a tribe determine whether a nearby building is a separate 

"facility" requiring its own license? 
 
A:   For purposes of the Facility License Standards, a facility license is required for 

each gaming place, facility or location where gaming occurs.  If a place, facility 
or location is a stand-alone structure with no covered connection to another 
gaming place, facility or location (i.e., at least a covered breezeway), then a 
separate facility license will be required. 

 
Q: Is a facility license required for those locations where the extent of the 

gaming is a few machines in a mini-mart or gas station? 
  
A: Yes, the facility license standards apply to these locations.  The Facility License 

Standards require a separate license for each gaming, place, facility or location 
where gaming occurs.  Even though full scale gaming is not occurring at these 
locations, it is important for the NIGC to be aware of each location where gaming 
is occurring, and also to ensure that those locations are constructed, operated, and 
maintained in a manner that adequately protects the environment, public health 
and safety.   

 
Q: Is notification required for expansion of an existing gaming facility? 
 
A: Notification is not required if the expansion is merely an extension of an existing 

gaming facility.  However, in some instances, NIGC has learned that the term 
extension has been used to describe construction of a new facility.  As described 
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above, if a newly constructed gaming facility is not attached to the existing 
structure, it is considered a separate facility for purposes of the Facility License 
Standards and notification to the NIGC is required at least 120 days prior to 
opening.   

 
In those situations where the existing facility and the new facility are connected 
but the existing facility will cease to operate as a gaming facility upon completion 
of the new facility, notification to NIGC is required, since the structure would be 
a new facility and not an extension of the current gaming facility.  Notification to 
the NIGC would be required both for the opening of a new facility, as well as the 
closure of the existing facility. 

 
 Though not required by the regulations, in circumstances where expansion of the 

gaming facility will cross parcel lines, NIGC would appreciate notification as a 
courtesy since additional lands are involved.   

 
Q: Who should I contact with questions about the Facility License Standards? 
 
A: We recommend you contact your appropriate Regional Director, the EPHS 

Program Manager or Office of General Counsel attorneys regarding questions you 
have in relation to the NIGC’s facility license standards. 

 
  Region I – Portland:   503-326-5095 
  Region II – Sacramento:  916-414-2300 
  Region III – Phoenix:   602-640-2951 
  Region IV – St. Paul:   651-290-4004 
  Region V – Tulsa:   918-581-7924 
  Region VI – Washington DC:  202-632-7003  
  Washington D.C. Headquarters: 202-632-7003  
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