NIGC Selects Individuals for MICS Advisory Committee

For Immediate Release ~ March 4, 2004
Contact: Affie Ellis ~ (202) 632-7003

Washington, DC — National Indian Gaming Commission Chairman Phil Hogen today announced the names of individuals selected to serve on a Standing Federal-Tribal Minimum Internal Control Standards (MICS) Advisory Committee.

"In January, the NIGC sent a letter to tribal leaders requesting nominations of individuals to serve on this Advisory Committee," said Hogen. "The nine people we selected to serve bring a wealth of knowledge to the table and are representative of the size and geographical diversity of Indian gaming. We are fortunate to have their help in this important effort."

Minimum al Internal Control Standards are the procedures used to protect the integrity of gaming operations and offer uniform procedures to properly regulate gaming. The Committee will recommend and provide input regarding the formulation of proposed amendments necessary to enhance the current MICS and to address changes in gaming technology. Committee members will serve as a standing committee through December 2005. Below is a list of selected committee members:

  • Patrick Darden, Executive Director, Gaming Commission, Chitimacha Tribe of Louisiana
  • Sherrilyn Kie, Senior Internal Auditor, Pueblo of Laguna Tribal Gaming Authority
  • Jerome Schultze, Executive Director, Morongo Gaming Agency
  • Tracy Burris, Gaming Commissioner, Chickasaw Nation Gaming Commission
  • Jack Crawford, Chairman, Gaming Commission, Confederated Tribes of Umatilla
  • Lorna Skenandore, Gaming Compliance Manager, Oneida Tribe of Wisconsin
  • Patrick Lambert, Executive Director, Gaming Commission, Eastern Band of Cherokee
  • Mark N. Fox, Compliance Director, Four Bears Casino, Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation
  • John Meskill, Director Mohegan Tribe Gaming Commission

The National Indian Gaming Commission is an independent regulatory agency established within the Department of the Interior pursuant to the Indian Gaming Regulatory Act of 1988.


Print Banner
1441 L. Street NW Suite 9100, Washington DC 20005   Tel.: (202) 632-7003   Fax: (202) 632-7066    Email: