Jonodev Osceola Chaudhuri
September 2013 to Present

Jonodev Osceola Chaudhuri (Muscogee (Creek)) is Chairman of the National Indian Gaming Commission (NIGC). The NIGC is the primary federal agency responsible for regulating and ensuring the integrity of the $28 billion Indian gaming industry, consisting of more than 450 Indian gaming facilities, associated with nearly 242 tribes across 28 states.  Chairman Chaudhuri brings to the NIGC extensive policy, legal, and judicial experience and a lifelong commitment to serving the Native American community. His varied experiences each stem from his understanding of the connection between the development of strong governmental institutions and Native American self-determination.

Prior to his designation as Acting Chairman by President Obama in October 2013, he served as Associate Commissioner and Vice Chair.  Chairman Chaudhuri was initially appointed to the Commission by the Secretary of Interior in September of 2013. Prior to joining the NIGC, Chairman Chaudhuri was Senior Counselor to the Department of the Interior’s Assistant Secretary for Indian Affairs, where he provided guidance and assistance on a wide range of national policy issues, including Indian gaming, economic development, energy, Alaska affairs, and tribal recognition.

He has practiced law for over a decade, primarily in private practice serving tribes and tribal entities.  Additionally, Chairman Chaudhuri has served as a judge on five different tribal courts, including serving his tribe as Chief Justice of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation Supreme Court. Chairman Chaudhuri’s professional background also includes work as a community organizer, adjunct professor, and author.

Chairman Chaudhuri graduated with a bachelor’s of arts degree from Dartmouth College, N.H. and a J.D. from Cornell Law School, N.Y. 

Past Commissioners

Commission Chairs

Tracie M. Stevens June 2010 to August 2013
George Skibine October 2009 to June 2010
Philip N. Hogen
December 2002 to October 2009
Montie Deer
November 1998 to September 2002
Tadd Johnson
September 1997 to October 1998
Ada Deer
January 1997 to May 1997
Harold Monteau
October 1994 to January 1997
Anthony J. Hope
January 1990 to October 1994


Daniel Little April 2010 to May 2015
Steffani A. Cochran January 2010 to January 2013
Norman H. DesRosiers January 2007 to January 2010
Cloyce V. Choney December 2002 to December 2007
Nelson W. Westrin

December 2002 to December 2005

Teresa E. Poust

June 1999 to December 2002

Elizabeth Lohah Homer

July 1999 to July 2002

Phil Hogen December 1995 to June 1999
Tom Foley

September 1995 to March 1998

Lacy Thornburg

August 1994 to March 1995

Jana M. McKeag

April 1991 to December 1995

Joel M. Frank

November 1990 to November 1993

[Back to top]

Print Banner
1441 L. Street NW Suite 9100, Washington DC 20005   Tel.: (202) 632-7003   Fax: (202) 632-7066    Email: